Idea Discussion: Free Movement

• Hey bros, watsup? Since we're still waiting for the next thing to release, I figured why not start a discussion about an idea I've been pondering lately?

When playing the various Alphas of DBOG, I noticed that despite being essentially a click-based fighting game with button-based skills, most of the game revolved mainly around free movement as a whole. You can fly pretty much anywhere, parkour on mountains (yes, it can be done), and you have perfect 360 movement button-control...except when in combat. In combat beyond a few skills, you can't move around, or dodge whatsoever, you're just stuck in one spot.

Before I explain keep in mind this is just an idea, so don't complain about giving the devs too much work. They don't have to do this, this is just an idea, and I'm not really expecting it to happen. Just something I've been thinking about.

Anywho, I recently started playing GuildWars2, which actually has a pretty similar movement and combat system to DBO. However, the big difference was that there was completely free movement in combat. You could still lock-on to targets for certain skills, but you can walk back and forth, move to the side, or even dodge attacks. And not only are the skills buttons, but so are the basic attacks in the game, and it really makes combat fun.

What I found particularly interesting though is how close to this DBO feels to me. Sure, not ALL the movement mechanics are the same, but being able to freely control how your character moves including jumping covers most of what is necessary for this. If there were a way to program movement, even if very basic for DBO's combat, I think that could drastically improve the battle system. I mean, it's Dragon Ball, it feels weird to be so restricted.

However, this is just my idea, and I'm interested to hear what you guys think? Does something like this sound interesting, or is there a charm to the combat of DBO that I'm missing? Thanks! :thumbup: :thumbsup: